#8 IT ALWAYS SEEMS IMPOSSIBLE, UNITL IT’S DONE

I don’t think anyone can be as happy as I am right now. Crying happy tears because I am on my way to achieving something I didn’t think was ever going to be possible. 3 weeks ago, I was suffering from some really serious back and hamstring pain on my left side obviously figured it had something to do with my knee but wasn’t too sure why it was so painful. It literally was hurting me to lay down.

So back to the physio I go for my usual checkup to only find out that my left hamstring was extremely weak, like 43% weaker than my right one. Yeah, it’s as bad as it sounds anyways my next challenge rises. I was given 3 weeks to focus purely on strengthening my hamstring, something I hadn’t really given any attention in my rehab so far. I’ll just let you know this was by far the toughest 3 weeks of my life. My goodness strengthening your hamstring is one tough gig. However, I never expected it to be easy and I knew if I gave it my all; pushed through the temporary pain, I’d feel absolutely amazing when I reached my goal. It’s just the simple things like that, that continue to keep me motivated in my knee-hab and I’m definitely better off for it.

Today I got given my next lot of goals. I thought my last lot was pretty tough and I managed to get through it, but this is probably the toughest lot I’ve seen in a very long time. Talk about taking it to the next level, jeepers. I guess that’s what I’ve been working towards though and I’m super proud of how far I’ve come. Just 2 weeks out from completing the first of my five recovery phases, I was given my return to running program earlier than expected. For anyone who understands what I’ve been through, this has to be my greatest achievement so far. 6 months ago, when I wasn’t in the best place mentally, I threw this program out because I didn’t think I would ever see a day where I could use it again. And today I proved to myself that i can not only do anything but I’m a lot stronger now than I have ever been.

I can’t really change what’s happened to me but I know exactly what I have to do, to make sure it NEVER happens again. Every day is a chance for me to grow and develop into the person I want to be and each day I feel like I’m getting so much closer to that goal than I ever thought I was capable of. I literally cannot wipe the smile off my face!!!

 

Leave a Reply

