#10 YOU ALWAYS HAVE A CHOICE

Well 10 weeks ago today, as you would know, I underwent surgery on my knee for the second time- was told after what was done that I’d probably never play sport again or at least it wouldn’t be a wise choice if I did. Lost in thought, I turned to the computer to look for answers or to at least give me some sort of hope. I searched and searched for hours, reading stories after stories about ACL rehab and recovery (something I’ve done about 1000 times, also something I probably shouldn’t do either lol). I rang my mentor and spoke about it. I spoke to my physio about it. I spent hours just trying to find an answer as to why I would never be capable of playing sport again. There was one thing that my physio said though, something I will never forget. He said to me “Just remember that you can do anything in your life. It’s your choice and it may never be wise. However, if you don’t give it a go, you’ll never know what could have been or how capable you actually are. Remember that anything is possible, Look at what you have already achieved. You and only you have to believe it!!” And right at that moment everything started to make sense. How can someone tell you that you’re never going to play sport again and be so certain when you haven’t even tried or attempted, like my physio said you never how capable you actually are until you try something.

I decided I couldn’t accept it and there was no way I was going to settle for it. I knew that there was no way that what my surgeon told me could be true. Knee injuries are one of the most common sporting injuries, everyone heals and everyone recovers in their own time and in their own way. My physio put me on a specific 5-phase rehab program. From the moment I started the first phase I knew it was going to be tough. 26 goals had to be ticked off in the 8 week time frame. It didn’t seem like a lot at the time, but I had some hiccups along the way that happened to set me back. That was the hardest part, to try and pull myself back up each time, it’s exhausting.  However, the best part is being able to tick them off, it only means I’m improving and moving one step closer to my end goal.

Once I pushed pass the obstacles I came out better on the other side. That’s not to say it wasn’t a struggle, cause it definitely was. 6-week mark I hit a bit of a wall and dug myself into a massive hole. But it was just a sign that I had to make some adjustments and after that I was fine. Once week 8 came about I was feeling unreal. So here I am, I’m extremely happy to say that after 8 weeks, over 30 of my goals were ticked and my knee is feeling strong and pain free for the first time in a long time. I can tell you now, it’s truly amazing what you can achieve when you chuck the odds aside and just give it a go. Bring on the phase, I cannot wait for what’s in store.

“You are always one decision away from a totally different life.”

Leave a Reply

