#16 I DON’T KNOW WHERE I’M GOING, BUT I’M ON MY WAY

It’s been a long road that’s for sure. 1 year and 6 months have passed on by and in that time so many things have happened. Things I never wanted or thought I would experience and things that I have only ever dreamed of. It’s been a year and a half full of good times and plenty of bad times.

Going back to my very first pt appointment last year, I was made to set goals and deadlines that I wanted to achieve during in my rehab as well as life in general. I set my deadlines and what not, I wrote down my dreams and aspirations. The question is though, have I achieved any of them? Well yes, I have achieved more than I ever thought I would. However, things haven’t necessarily turned out the way I pictured or imagined but hey that’s life. You really do have to take each day as it comes. My physio went over my goals with me the other day and I was made to write a new list then I got to compare them. I was pretty shocked to see how much my mindset had changed in that time. It’s truly unreal how much one situation can change everything. I legit wrote down a complete new set of goals. Some of which I once thought were impossible to achieve. They are now in reach and I’m really super dooper excited for the future.

Spending the last year and a half away from the one thing that’s kind of always been there for me has been insanely hard. Being able to get back on the court though and work as hard or nearly as hard as I once used to is one crazy feeling. I laugh and cry happy tears every time I step on the court. I remember a few weeks ago, I mentioned it in my last post, that when I got the ok to hit the court again I found every excuse not to go. (I really want to go back in time and punch myself in the face lol) The one thing I have been dreaming of doing for soooo long is now something I have the opportunity to do. If I could, I would go and spend everyday down on the basketball court, I’m a little crazy.

*****************

I can remember back to the day when I had my leg unwrapped, after surgery. I remember thinking how on earth is that going to ever be normal again. Now, the only thing that I have to remind me about my knee are the scars.  I’m about 4 months away now from being cleared for good, not gonna lie but that scares me a little. Everything is all starting to come around really quickly. Its cool and all but I’m in total shock of how far I have actually come in the last few months, especially in the last 2 weeks.

The past two days have been pretty exhausting. I had two lots of testing, one today and one yesterday. Basically for my physio to see where I’m at and how my knee is feeling overall before my phase 3 testing next month. I went in with one mindset, just one expectation. I said I don’t care how long it takes but you are not leaving the stadium until you make 1000 shots, doesn’t matter where from on the court, you just have to make 1000. In just over an hour I can now tick that off my rehab bucket list. So a total of 1800 shots were made in two days and the greatest thing of all, my knee has held up and is feeling bloody fantastic. I may have died a little in the process of all this as I am extremely unfit…. but I honestly can’t put it into words of how awesome it feels to be back on the court. I’m pretty excited about where I’m heading, I don’t really know where I’m going but I know I’m on my way.

 

Leave a Reply

