#17 WHEN YOU BELIEVE IN YOURSELF, ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE

The main goal or focus this past 4 weeks has been running, agility and jumping/landing as well as making sure my fitness and strength is up to scratch. Pfffft easy done I thought…… Wow was I kidding myself!!! The program I have been completing has been a little extreme, and with everything else going on in my life I’m pretty happy with how well I have handled it.

The harder it seems to get the more I seem to enjoy it, funny that. I feel as if I have achieved more in this last month than I have all year to be honest and that’s really saying something. It was a pretty cool thing when I got cleared to get back on the court after 1 and half years of being away from it, but today is going to be one of, if not, the biggest test I have experienced so far in my rehab. I’ve been working crazy hard all year with my physio to ensure I would make it to this day and never have I ever experienced so many emotions at once. I know I’m ready this time though and for the first time I actually don’t feel scared and afraid. I’ve been waiting patiently all year for this day to finally come around and now its here I am super excited to finally give it my best shot and put all that I have been working for into action. After 1 year and 7 months – 187 ticks 14 crosses, I’m about to find out whether I’m fit and ready for the final stage of my rehab, The Return.

**********************************

 When I had my second operation in July I promised myself that this time would be different. I have been so discipline, dedicated and strict with everything ever since that operation to ensure I would make it to this day. Instead of walking away upset or disappointed like I previously have, I trusted from the moment I walked into the physio at 8:30am this morning that I would walk out with my head held high, along with the feeling that I had achieved everything I set myself up to achieve. Today was that day alright. FINALLY.

In early September I set a date for when I hoped to be cleared and ready to return to sport.(basically just to give myself and my physio an idea of how my rehab programs would work out) I wrote in my last post that I was about 4 months away so basically end of March was when I set it for, which is around the time when the season starts anyway. I thought I don’t want to rush things seeing as it’s been a pretty hectic year for me. I was really doubting myself on the lead up to todays testing thinking I was behind or I wasn’t ready. Little did I know though, that I’m actually way ahead on my rehab schedule, which means the date can now be pushed forward. With fingers crossed and all going to plan, in a few weeks time I shall be cleared and ready to return to basketball. AHHHHHH MA GODDD. The moment I heard those words today, I wanted to cry. It’s been an up and down year for me, I’ve experienced pain, I’ve cried plenty of tears but never in one moment have I been so proud of myself.

I’ve been putting in a lot of work behind the scenes and it’s taken me a bloody long time to get to this point. However, the work doesn’t stop here. Most definitely in for an exciting and crazy month but if it’s going to move me one step closer to where I want to be I cannot wait for it. I’m just so incredibly  happy that I can finally say I’m not far away from my return.

 

I’m on my way back. 2017 is going to be MY year. Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

