#20 WHEN YOU REACH THE TOP, KEEP ON CLIMBING

6 weeks must be up then, time to go back to the physio for my phase 4-kneehab testing. I tell you what; it’s been one busy month with Christmas, New Years, Work, Holidays, Kneehabbing, It’s hard to believe that I’ve managed to find some time to write. Anyway my monthly visit to the physio has arrived and I am just about to find out whether everything I have been doing over the last 6 weeks has led me to probably one of the most exciting moments of my life to date, the ok to return to basketball. Now, it’s not an ok to go chuck on my basketball shoes and start playing (I wish it was that easy), but it’s basically the ok to return to full contact training, which will then obviously lead into playing once the season has started.

I always joke around and say I’ve forgotten how to play or how to shoot which makes sense seeing as it’s been nearly two years but it’s actually quite amazing, the whole of my rehab I have been doing little bits and pieces to keep me as close to basketball as possible and recently when I’ve been training I feel like I’ve picked up where I left off (well the last time I played I injured myself soooo maybe not exactly…. hahah but you know what I mean). I don’t feel out of place, I feel like it’s exactly where I’m meant to be and its hard to believe that after all the doubts and mishaps over the last 2 years, I actually made it back to the court. 12 months ago I would have never thought or believed that I’d be where I am today and this close to returning to the sport that I love.

Over the last 2 months I have been training pretty hard and working my butt off, preparing myself for when I am able to get back into basketball and goodness me, it’s getting pretty crazy!!!!!! My goals are continually changing each day but my determination to want to get better will always remain the same. Some days are hard on me physically but most are hard on me mentally. I just keep reminding myself about the day I’m going to be 110% again, cause thats going to be a great day. I’ll be back shortly people, hopefully with some BLODDY GREAT news. Its ok, I’ve got this covered!!!!!!

**********************

When I look back on the last 19 months, especially in the last 3, I have achieved so much yet it has been filled with so much craziness, that’s its kind of all become a blur to say the least. I have changed the past year, I have grown in many ways but its only just become clear to me that I am now the person who I want to be, I am on the right track to where I want to go and finally for the first time in my life I feel like I have some direction and purpose.

They told me I should probably never play sport again. At just 19 years old, I found that hard to believe. These last few months of my recovery I have pushed myself, I have doubted myself, I have even hated myself at times but there’s one thing I have never done, that is give up on myself. I have one super special person to thank for that, my wonderful mentor. The one person who never gave up on me, the one person who continually pushed me to do better each and every day and the one person who has believed in me right from day one, you know who you are and I can’t thank you enough!! Because of you, after nearly 2 years of rehabbing I have just achieved the one thing I once thought was impossible.

TODAY HAS TO BE, IF NOT, THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE!!! SO GUESS WHATTTTTT, I just got cleared from my physio. I am now officially ready to return to basketball, ok not quite yet but I am free from physio. There is no way, after my last surgery 8 months ago, I would have believed I’d ever hear the words ‘You are ready to return to sport,’ I have so many ppl to thank that have helped me along the way!! Especially my physio’s who have continually guided me and supported me 110%, ensuring I would make it to this day. Well guess what, here I am. I DID IT. The return is real this time. I don’t think anyone could wipe the ridiculously big smile off my face right now, I feel like I have been waiting for this day for one too many years and you have no idea how good it feels to hear the words and for it to actually be true. This has to be the one of the biggest and greatest rewards yet!!! OHHHHHH MY GOD.  I must say my favourite part of today though was ripping up my bible that I’ve been using for the last 19 and a half months, thanks for your help but I don’t need you anymore hahah.

As exciting as it is, the work doesn’t stop here. I am now entering into the very last phase of my rehab. Although I ripped up my bible, the last phase is a return to sport injury prevention, maintenance and recovery program, which i’ll have to complete over the next 6-8 weeks, on top of my gym and basketball training. This is the most important phase of all as I am now completely back to normal and It’s so crucial for me to now look after myself to ensure I never have to go through this again.

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 11.47.45 am.png

I AM BACK IN ACTION !!!!! 

Leave a Reply

