#22 YOU HAVE TO WORK HARD FOR WHAT YOU WANT….

4 weeks ago as you would all surely know by now, I achieved the biggest goal on my rehab bucket list. With a whole lot of uncertainty, 2 knee operations, over 35 physio appointments, countless pt sessions, plenty of mental breakdowns, I was always unsure whether making a return to sport was actually going to be possible. It didn’t take much for me to stop believing I’d ever make a comeback. If no one around me believed that I could, then there was surely no way that I could right? Behind the scenes I have been constantly working, and working and working so damn hard to change myself, in the hope that one day I could make what was classified as “impossible,” possible.

They say that anything is possible. Although most will often disagree with that statement; the old me used to. But the one thing I have really gained from all of this is that you can do absolutely anything in your life. You can change whatever you like and you can achieve whatever you like. YOU just have to believe you can and work hard for it, whatever that may be. For me, it was making a comeback to the sport that has always been apart of my life. They told me that my body wasn’t capable and that playing again would be a crazy risk. They said to me, “Why don’t you try a new sport, one with less impact”….. You serious? That’s pretty funny to be honest. The last couple years I’ve heard plenty of things that have turned out to be quite untrue and I’ve been knocked around a fair bit but I’m so glad that each time I have found a way to get up again. If I had a dollar for every time I have broken down, cried or wanted to give up over this whole kneehabbing journey, I’m quite sure that I’d be a millionaire by now haha. It’s been far from easy I can tell you, but I have proved to myself that I really can do anything I put my mind to.I still have a long way to go and plenty more to learn however I’ll always be proud of my accomplishments and how much I have managed to grow and overcome in the past 2 years.

16831235_1402947063069457_1140002021_n

I have been training, gyming, preparing myself for quite some time and I’m now only 6 days away from my comeback game, WOOOOHOOOOO. The last few trainings I have been a little uncertain, I guess that’s only because I’ve gone from doing a lot of straight-line stuff to high intensity agility, which has obviously made a huge impact on my body and not going to lie I have been rather sore. That’s got to be normal though hey. I know it’s going to take time, of course it will, that’s just stating the obvious. I don’t let that stuff worry me too much but I also know it’s important to look after yourself and ensure that health comes first. In for a big week, but I’m already looking forward to it.

The countdown is on for real. 6 days to go…

Leave a Reply

