#23 THE RETURN – A MOMENT TO REMEMBER

At the time it can feel like forever but as you look back time goes by so quickly without you even realising.

I made a promise to myself 220 days ago, which feels like forever ago but it was to prove to myself that I can do it; I can make it back to basketball, after I was told I couldn’t. So I took my rehab to a new level. After a shaky up and down couple months I set fear aside and off I went. In that time I didn’t only prove myself wrong but I proved those who told me “I couldn’t” wrong. One step at a time, I committed to changing every aspect of my life so I could achieve what I set myself up to achieve. Just recently I ticked off THE BIGGEST GOAL IN MY REHAB, to play basketball again.

I hit rock bottom early last year. I became a version of myself that I hated. I became depressed and I started to settle for a life that I was completely unhappy with. I didn’t have a job, I couldn’t play sport, and I had no clear vision of what I wanted to achieve in my life. You could say I was a lost soul. I was alive but I wasn’t living the slightest bit. I had no direction and absolutely no purpose, well that’s what I used to believe. I made a decision to change my life, every single part of it. Today I am here and for the first time in a long time I’m injury free and I have finally found the version of myself that I have been striving to find all along. Everyday has been a challenge for me but each day I learn something new and I grow a little more. I’m a whole lot stronger than I was before my injury and I’m back better than ever. It’s been a long time coming that’s for sure and I have overcome so much more than I imagined I could. A massive shoutout goes out to all the amazing people who have supported me along the way, whom have guided me to be a better person and who believed in me when I didn’t have the strength to believe in myself. You are the reason why I am here today and I’ll always be grateful.

****************

Well I think it’s fair to say that after 640 days of rehabbing, my kneehabbing journey is (kind of) officially over. I have now made my return to the basketball court and I’m not sure there is anything that could beat that feeling right now. That was definitely the most amazing moment of my life. So I’m thinking it’s time to close this chapter of my life, the past is in the past hey. You were challenging and MY GOD difficult at times but you taught me life lessons that I will always hold onto. Goodbye kneehabbing, thanks for all the good times and all the bad times. You’ve definitely made me a better person today.

This is not the end of my journey, just the start; continue to follow me on my next journey as I embrace myself for a really super dooper, exciting future. Who knows what it may bring but I can tell you it’s going to be amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

