#24 REST CAN SOMETIMES BE YOUR BESTFRIEND

When life knocks you down time and time again, they say the best thing to do is to get back up and keep on moving forward (that’s definitely easier said than done). What happens when you physically, mentally, emotionally don’t have the strength to….

Do you just get back up and keep pushing through? Do you forget about that niggle or that flu that you’ve had for weeks? Probably not.

 

For those who live an active, fast-paced lifestyle, “resting” can be their worst nightmare, I know because it’s mine. My life has been far from enjoyable these last couple weeks, I’ve tried keeping a positive spin on every single thing I’ve managed to achieve, however there has been a lot more that’s gone on during the process, which no one actually sees or witness’. Sure, I got cleared from my physio; I returned to basketball and I ticked off one of my biggest goals. That doesn’t mean my life hasn’t and won’t continue to have high and low moments.

I’ve always known that when pressure and stress come knocking so does illness, yet I still struggle to take into account. I’m definitely an all in or all out kind of gal, so late last year when I came down with glandular fever, it was pretty hard and something I really struggled to work through. However, with a positive mind frame I took a step back and I really started to look after myself. I focused on my end goal and I knew that taking a break would help me in the long run. In saying that I recovered pretty quickly and I was able to start living my life the way I most enjoyed. Glandular fever is one of those things that when you get it once you shouldn’t expect to get it again, well that’s if you rest and recover for the recommended lengthy period of time, something that didn’t really fit in my busy schedule. I’ll never understand why I always seem to choose the hard way…. There’s this thing called rest and recover, the key to getting better they say, makes a whole lot of sense. So I often ask myself why do I do this to myself, why do I continue ending up exactly where I do not want to be. It seems to be a regular occurrence and one I dislike. Little part of me that knows I have more to give so I push myself and I’ll go that extra mile to ensure I get there. And here I am back at square one trying to figure out why I ended up here again. When pressure and stress come knocking apparently glandular fever does too…. For those who have had it, you will understand me when I say it really does mess with your everyday life.

So truth is, at one of the most special moments of my life, I was unable to fully enjoy it, which kind of sucks in a way. I know there’s no point complaining about it because I’ve always been in control of what goes on in my life. I started taking on more than I could handle, I didn’t listen to my body when it was telling me I needed a break, I kept pushing myself because I felt like I had no choice and I had so much more to prove to myself. I didn’t think of the consequences that may follow but I’ll have to learn the hard way AGAIN, good on you Nina. When you commit to changing your life and your habits, it’s close to impossible to go backwards so I’m thinking that listening to my body needs to move its way to the very top of my priority list so this really does never happen again.

I’m slowly learning that sometimes rest can actually be your best friend and not your enemy. It is important to take a step back from time to time. You don’t have to push yourself if you don’t want to because at the end of the day it’s going to get you no further than where you are. You have to learn to listen to your body, it will often send you signals and that’s the most vital time to tune in and listen. Life is about enjoying the little things, the process isn’t always sunshine and rainbows, nothing ever is cause life is messy but when you stop, take a break, then get back up, that is showing true strength and that’s what is going to get you where you want to be.

So when reality hits, STOP and take a second to think about what your next move is going to be. Rest, Rethink, then React. Remember life is soooo much better when you get to ENJOY the things you love doing.

Leave a Reply

