#25 DOING LIFE INJURY FREE

 

In just a couple weeks time it will mark two years since part of my life changed dramatically.

So where do I start…..

Well it’s  now been 3 months since I was cleared from my physio and I returned to basketball, something I never thought would ever be possible.

After spending the early months feeling sorry for myself, wishing and praying I would get better instead of actually going out there and working for it, was my biggest mistake. 2 years ago when I first injured my knee, I didn’t really understand what the 12 month recovery period was going to be like. I had no idea how difficult the rehab would be but there was also part of me that didn’t really want to get better either. I learnt the hard way of not giving a shit though when I re-injured it in February last year. It was a massive kick in the face however it taught me some valuable lessons. So after surgery number two I put it all aside, I set off and I decided to work my ass off to prove myself that no one can tell me what I can and can’t do in my life.

Not many people know or understand but playing basketball again after the extent of my injury was going to be less of a challenge and more of a risk to say the least. But there was definitely a fire deep within telling me that making a comeback would be worth all the pain in the world. So I knew right from that moment that one way or another, I was going to play again.

I never looked back after that day and 2 years on, believe it or not, I’m living my life injury free and after all the sweat, the tears and the pain I can finally say it was all so worth it. My injury taught me a lot and it’s crazy how something so small could change my life in such a huge way.

 

So living life injury free hey…. What’s it like?

To be honest, it’s pretty tough. Big call but I’d have to say its harder than actually being injured. I still face plenty of challenges and I still have such a long way to go but the last couple months I have progressed really well and I’m genuinely happy with how things are going. Duhhhh, I’m playing basketball again so it doesn’t get much better than that.

I‘m always so thankful for the challenges and the hard times that continue to arise living life injury free, because it reminds me of the strength I used to get here. It points me in a new direction or sends me off to work on things that need improving, constantly.

Somewhere out there I know that someone is suffering more than I am. Someone can’t walk or genuinely do the things that I take for granted. I work extra hard for those people because I was once in that position and I thought the world was going to end. Each and every person has a purpose on this earth, some may not understand just yet what theirs is but it is so important to give those people strength and hope that there is something out there for them. I was lucky enough to have someone who stuck by me when I was at my lowest and when I couldn’t stand on my own two feet and that’s what got me here today. So when you start to take the small things in your life for granted, take a moment to think of those who don’t have the great opportunities you do. You’ll be better off for it and it will make you appreciate everything, big or small.

 

Leave a Reply

